Anglican Church of the Southern Cone of America

Church family:Anglican churches
Based in:Argentina
Present in:

About membership

Statistics of church membership, number of churches, congregations, pastors, etc. are those given by the churches and organizations, unless otherwise indicated. WCC member churches have various ways of defining their membership: state churches in which virtually every citizen is baptized and thus counted as a member, churches which include in their membership persons who are baptized but not actively participating, churches in which only adult baptized or communicant members are counted, etc. No attempt has been made to classify the membership figures in such categories, because agreed upon indicators to so do not exist.

Member of:
 WCC (1995) 
Associate member of:
(Iglesia Anglicana del Cono Sur de América)

The church began as a mission to groups untouched by evangelization in Patagonia, in the 1840s. British immigrants to the area increased the need for chaplaincies. Support from England came through the South American Missionary Society, which now supports diocesan activities. It covers six countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay. At the beginning of 1991, the seven Anglican dioceses (including North Argentina) in these countries constituted an autonomous province within the Anglican communion. The Anglican Church of the Southern Cone of America is well-respected in the area by other churches, including the Roman Catholic hierarchy and by the governmental authorities. It holds together the differences of culture, charismatic experience and missionary purpose, thus embracing both concern for issues of evangelism and social issues such as land rights and development. Spanish-speaking outreach is more recent and constitutes the key urban ministries of the church.

Last updated:01/01/06