Methodist Church of Mexico

Church family:Methodist churches
Based in:Mexico
Present in:

About membership

Statistics of church membership, number of churches, congregations, pastors, etc. are those given by the churches and organizations, unless otherwise indicated. WCC member churches have various ways of defining their membership: state churches in which virtually every citizen is baptized and thus counted as a member, churches which include in their membership persons who are baptized but not actively participating, churches in which only adult baptized or communicant members are counted, etc. No attempt has been made to classify the membership figures in such categories, because agreed upon indicators to so do not exist.

Member of:
 WCC (1948) 
Associate member of:
(Iglesia Metodista de México, IMM)

Methodist work in Mexico began in 1871 when a young Mexican was converted to Methodism in the USA and returned to his country to share his new faith. The Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and the Methodist Episcopal Church followed in 1873, sending missionaries to explore possibilities and establish congregations. In 1930 Methodism in Mexico became united and the Methodist Church in Mexico was born as an autonomous church. Its bishops are elected every four years. At present the church has six episcopal areas covering 28 of the 30 states of the nation and the federal district. It has a university, two theological seminaries, 150 centres of theological study by extension, 12 schools from nursery to high school, four social centres, two hospitals, two clinics, two orphanages, two homes for the elderly, and a girls' hostel.

Last updated:01/01/06