Reino Unido


Acerca de los perfiles de los países

Los perfiles de los países tienen como finalidad proporcionar información básica sobre un determinado país y su contexto con objeto de situar las reseñas de las iglesias. Estos perfiles deben leerse conjuntamente con los correspondientes perfiles de las iglesias en el país de que se trate.

Pulse aquí para saber las fuentes de los datos estadísticos

Superficie:242900 km2
INB per cápita:33940 US$
Clasificación:Gran economía industrializada






Cristiana: 72.00%

Musulmana: 2.70%

Otra: 1.80%

Judía: 0.50%

Hindu/Buddhist 1.8%

Anglicanos: 25336000

Católicos: 5712000

Protestantes: 4005390

Ortodoxos: 376220

Independientes: 2983770

Google maps

The United Kingdom consists of three constituent countries - England, Scotland, and Wales - on the island of Great Britain, and the province of Northern Ireland. It was formed through successive Acts of Union, of Wales, Scotland and Ireland with England. The Irish Republic separated in 1922. The UK has been a major colonial and world power, and the cradle of the industrial revolution in the 18th and 19th centuries. Its empire gave place to the British Commonwealth in the 20th century. British society has become multi-cultural because of immigration from the former colonies. The UK joined the European Community (now EU) in 1973. The British isles were Christianized as early as the second century. Since the Reformation, the Anglicans form the established church in England, and the Presbyterians the national church in Scotland. Along with the Methodists, Reformed and Baptists, many Free churches exist, and in the 20th century many other Pentecostal, Charismatic and Evangelical churches and groups have emerged. The independent African and Afro-Caribbean churches are very lively and strong. Among the Orthodox churches the Ecumenical Patriarchate is the largest. There are also sizeable Russian, Bulgarian, Armenian and other Orthodox churches. There are national councils of churches in England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland, and an overarching one for Britain and Ireland. All have the Catholic Church as member, except for Ireland. The Free churches have their own groupings. There is also an Evangelical Alliance, affiliated with the WEA.


Última actualización: 01/01/06