World Council of Churches

A worldwide fellowship of churches seeking unity, a common witness and Christian service

You are here: Home / Press centre / Events / Online prayer service for World Food Day

Online prayer service for World Food Day

The World Council of Churches (WCC) is inviting all people of good will to attend an online prayer service on 16 October, World Food Day at 4:30 p.m. (CET).
Online prayer service for World Food Day

Photo: Marcelo Schneider/WCC

Event details

When

16 - 16 October 2020 16 October 2020

Add event to calendar

The World Council of Churches (WCC) is inviting all people of good will to attend an online prayer service on 16 October, World Food Day at 4:30 p.m. (CET).

The day is part of the Churches' Week of Action on Food, being observed the year from 11-17 October, as hunger is a stark reality for 26.4 percent of the world’s population. The theme for World Food Day is “Grow, Nourish, Sustain Together.”

The service will feature welcome greetings by Prof. Dr Isabel Apawo Phiri, WCC deputy general secretary. Reflections will be offered by Sofía Monsalve Suárez, secretary-general of FIAN International. The service will also include voices from WCC member churches across the world.

The Christian Conference of Asia, and Pacific Theological College are also hosting online prayer services the same day, using the liturgy provided by the WCC. The service in the Pacific will be held at 10 am Suva, Fiji time (9 am Sydney, 11 am Auckland). In Asia, the service will be held at 11 am Bangkok time, (9.30 am New Delhi, 12 noon Beijing).

Rev. Prof. Dr Ioan Sauca, WCC interim general secretary, will share a recorded message to the fellowship.

This week Sauca welcomed and celebrated the award of the 2020 Nobel Peace Prize to the UN World Food Programme, which works in some of the remotest and most vulnerable regions of the world in a time when hunger is growing at an alarming rate.

Live stream will be available at: www.oikoumene.org/live

Download the prayer material in English

In French

In Spanish

In Portuguese

Registration form for the Pacific

Registration  form for Asia

Registration form for Africa, the Americas, Caribbean, Europe & the Middle-East